De la Frontera DFAS announce the winners of their 2013 Young Arts competition

This year's Young Artists' Competition reached its grand finale on the evening of Friday 15th March and what a competition it proved to be. The standard was so high that we gave out 3 prizes instead of 2 when the Members' Vote ended in a dead heat. We are extremely grateful to the sponsor of the Members' Prize - our friends at The Sovereign Group - for contributing another 150€ so that the prize didn't have to be shared.

As on the previous occasions the prize-giving took place at a private reception following a week's public exhibition of the schools winning entries. The reception was  attended by the students and their families, teachers, dignitaries from the Ayuntamiento de San Roque, members of DFAS de la Frontera, and our very special guest Denise Topolski. Denise is Head of Young Arts at NADFAS House, so we were thrilled that she was able to attend.

This year we had 32 terrific pieces submitted from the 6 participating schools:  IES Hosteleria, IES Carlos Castilla Del Pino, IES Jose Cadalso, IES Mar Del Sur, IES Sierra Almenara, and Sotogrande International School.

The judging panel of the Main Prize had no easier time than the members in deciding on an outright winner, but  find one they did, and the 500€ Main Young Artists' Prize went to 14 year old Rafa Cordoba from IES Jose Cadalso (pictured) with the charming and evocative 'Paisaje', while the 2 The Sovereign Group sponsored 150€ Members' Prizes went to 16 year old Adrian Villanueva Ledesma from IES Carlos Castilla del Pino with his beautifully executed 'Joven Egipcio' and to 15 year old Marta Aronja Ruiz .from IES Mar del Sur with her clever and striking 'Princesa Caida'.

What was particularly gratifying was that our 3 winners came from different schools - a sign of San Roque area's blossoming young talent.

Of course none of this could happen without help, support, and a lot of hard work. This was Christine Hodgson's third and final year as our Young Artists' Competiton organizer and she certainly bowed out on a high. Thank-you Christine. Thanks also go to our friends at the Ayuntamiento de San Roque for their considerable help and support, and our judging panel which this year was made up of our Chairman Peter Kirrage, Ian Le Breton from our Members' Prize sponsor The Sovereign Group, and Spanish artist and sculptor Gines Serran, and Chinese artist Lily Duan Jiangli. .

To see all the 2013 entries click here.